2014 Doctoral Dissertation Award

The Doctoral Dissertation Award Committee has awarded the Doctoral Dissertation Award in Distributed Computing 2014 to

Dr. Bernhard Haeupler.

Dr. Bernhard Haeupler completed his thesis

“Probabilistic Methods for Distributed Information Dissemination”

on June 2013 under the co-supervision of Professors Jonathan Kelner, Muriel Médard, and David Karger at MIT. Bernhard Haeupler’s thesis provides a sweeping multidisciplinary study of information dissemination in a network, making fundamental contributions to distributed computing and its connections to theoretical computer science and information theory. The thesis addresses an impressive list of topics to which Dr. Bernhard Haeupler contributed significantly. These topics include the design and analysis of gossip protocols overcoming the dependency to connectivity parameters such as conductance, the introduction of a completely new technique for analyzing the performance of network coding gossip algorithms, and new randomized protocols for multi-hop radio networks. These are just a few samples of the very many important contributions of Dr. Bernhard Haeupler’s thesis, and the work in this dissertation is distinguished by an impressive combination of creativity, breadth, and technical skill.

The award is sponsored jointly by the ACM Symposium on Principles of Distributed Computing (PODC) and the EATCS Symposium on Distributed Computing (DISC). This award is presented annually, with the presentation taking place alternately at PODC and DISC. This year 2014 it will be presented at DISC, to be held at Austin, Texas, October 1215, 2014.

Distributed Computing Doctoral Dissertation Award Committee, 2014:

Yehuda Afek, Tel-Aviv University, Israel
James Aspnes, Yale University, USA
Pierre Fraigniaud (chair), CNRS and University Paris Diderot, France
Dariusz Kowalski, University of Liverpool, UK
Gadi Taubenfeld, IDC Herzliya, Israel