2022 Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing

The 2022 Dijkstra Prize Award Committee concluded its deliberations and we are happy to announce that the papers

Safe Memory Reclamation for Dynamic Lock-Free Objects Using Atomic Reads and Writes,”
by Maged M. Michael.
Proceedings of the 22nd ACM Symposium on Principles of Distributed Computing (PODC), Monterey, CA, USA, July 2002, pages 21–30.


The Repeat Offender Problem: A Mechanism for Supporting Dynamic-Sized, Lock-Free Data Structures,”
by Maurice Herlihy, Victor Luchangco, and Mark Moir.
Proceedings of the 16th International Symposium on Distributed Computing (DISC), Toulouse, France, October 2002, pages 339–353.

have been selected by the committee to receive the Dijkstra Prize this year for providing the first general approach to memory reclamation in nonblocking data structures, with significant impact both in research and practice.


The Award Committee 2022:
Christian Scheideler, Paderborn University (chair)
Marcos Aguilera, VMware Research
Alessandro Panconesi, Università La Sapienza, Rome
Andrea Richa, Arizona State University
Alexander Schwarzmann, Augusta University
Philipp Woelfel, University of Calgary