The Best Paper Award for PODC 2010 has been awarded jointly to two papers:

  • Deterministic Distributed Vertex Coloring in Polylogarithmic Time; Leonid Barenboim, Michael Elkin.
  • Breaking the O(n^2) Bit Barrier: Scalable Byzantine Agreement with an Adaptive Adversary; Valerie King, Jared Saia.

The 2010 Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing has been awarded to Tushar D. Chandra, Vassos Hadzilacos, and Sam Toueg for the papers:

  • Tushar D. Chandra and Sam Toueg. Unreliable Failure Detectors for Reliable Distributed Systems, Journal of the ACM, 43(2):225-267, 1996.
  • Tushar D. Chandra, Vassos Hadzilacos and Sam Toueg. The Weakest Failure Detector for Solving Consensus, Journal of the ACM, 43(4):685-722, 1996.