Dijkstra Prize nominations

The 2021 Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing



Nomination deadline: March 15, 2021

The Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing is named for Edsger Wybe Dijkstra (1930-2002), a pioneer in the area of distributed computing. His seminal works on concurrency primitives (such as semaphores), concurrency problems (such as mutual exclusion and deadlock), finding shortest paths in graphs, fault-tolerance, and self-stabilization are important foundations upon which the field of distributed computing is built.

The prize is given for outstanding papers on the principles of distributed computing, whose significance and impact on the theory and/or practice of distributed computing has been evident for at least a decade. The Prize includes an award of $2000.

The Prize is sponsored jointly by the ACM Symposium on Principles of Distributed Computing (PODC) and the EATCS Symposium on Distributed Computing (DISC). This award is presented annually, with the presentation taking place alternately at ACM PODC and EATCS DISC. In 2021, it will be presented at DISC. The winners of the award will share the cash award, and each winning author will be presented with a plaque. An announcement of each year’s prize recipient(s) will be included in the PODC and DISC proceedings of that year, describing the paper’s lasting contributions.

Nominations and Eligibility

Nominations by any member of the scientific community are eligible, as long as the nominated work has had a significant impact on research areas of interest within the theory of distributed computing community, and as long as the year of the original publication is at least ten years prior to the year in which the award is given.

Papers authored or co-authored by members of the Award Committee will not be eligible for consideration. Members of the Award Committee can nominate papers. However, they must carefully consider nominations from within the community. Members of the Award Committee will be especially sensitive to conflict-of-interests issues if papers by former students or close colleagues are nominated. (Members of the Award Committee cannot nominate such papers themselves.) Self-nominations are not allowed.

The nomination must include a short paragraph (approximately 200 words) summarizing the contribution of the nominated work. The nomination may include additional material, for example, support letters, but its total length should not exceed six pages.

Nominations must be sent to the chair of the 2021 Award Committee, Keren Censor-Hillel (ckeren@cs.technion.ac.il). The nomination deadline is March 15, 2021.

Selection Process

Although the Award Committee is encouraged to consult with the distributed computing community at large, the Award Committee is solely responsible for the selection of the winner of the award. The prize may be shared by more than one paper. All matters relating to the selection process that are not specified here are left to the discretion of the Award Committee.

The list of past winners can be found at http://www.podc.org/dijkstra/ and http://www.disc-conference.org/wp/dijkstra-prize/.

Award Committee for 2021

Keren Censor-Hillel, Technion (chair)
Pierre Fraigniaud, Université de Paris and CNRS
Cyril Gavoille, LaBRI — Université de Bordeaux
Seth Gilbert, National University of Singapore
Andrzej Pelc, Université du Québec en Outaouais
David Peleg, Weizmann Institute of Science